Who Are Ya? Reviewer Daniel Baxter

Who are you?

Daniel and JuliaI’m a 37 year old structural engineer who designs bridges. My daughter Julia just turned
one on Pi Day, March 14th. My wife and I moved to Minneapolis two years ago from Cleveland, OH, where I played keyboard in several bands. In my free time I enjoy reading 
and running, which are fairly compatible with the whims of a one year old (especially once

Julia is asleep in the case of reading, or before she wakes up in the case of running).  Although Julia is a little older than Dan and Ian’s kids, I feel that Dan and Ian are much more organized than I am in the fatherhood department.

What is your drinking profile?

I’m more of an occasional drinker, and find that I often prefer Coke to beer if given the choice.

What are your go to’s?

During the week I try to stay away from Coke to keep the dreaded “dad bod” at bay, but when Friday evening comes around there is nothing I’d rather have than a can of cold Coke from the fridge.

Why are you doing this?

I feel fortunate that my wife and I have been able to see our friends as often as we do, but most of our socializing takes place at our homes, where it’s less stressful to have a bunch of babies in one place than at a restaurant. I like the idea though of taking Julia out to breweries in the company of friends with babies of their own, and not worrying about what people think of us, but instead approaching it as a sort of investigation to find the best places.

 

Leave a Reply

